ESR Meter

$84.99

Availability: -3 left in stock. Temporarily Out of Stock: Expected 4/25

Value
Service
Quality
19 Review(s)
Item # AC-ESR

ESR Meter

Double-click on image to view full size

Zoom Out
Zoom In

Customer Reviews

update from my review a year ago Submitted by Bob Parks on 9/24/2012
Service
Quality
Value
I have been using this meter for a year now, and its been very useful. The problem I mentioned before about the ESR meter reading higher resistance than an iCharger was because the setup I had with the ESR meter was a 2 wire resistance and thus included all the connectors and adapters, while the iCharger was using the balance tap to read the cells with a 4 wire measurement, and NOT including all the connectors. When you do cell by cell readings both methods now give about the same results. The ESR meter is a lot better on large cells, since it has much better resolution.

The meter has been great. Easy to use, and so it gets used on every pack after ever charge. The increase in pack ESR with age is pretty dramatic. We have had packs DOUBLE their ESR in the year we have had this meter.

The RC Groups links posted by YRS TRULY are very helpful. The REAL "Max C rate" method discussed in those links matches up very well with our experience. (and we do high C rate pack discharge tests regularly).

Anyway, I cannot change my old rating, but here is a new one with all 5 stars. Its not cheap, but it is a good value.
ESR Submitted by Anton on 9/1/2012
Quality
Value
Service
Seems to do erverything it's supposed to do. Too bad it only has the Deans type of plug. I have other batteries, but I guess I can make some adapters...where is that soldering iron?
more info at RCgroups Submitted by YURS TRULY on 7/12/2012
Value
Service
Quality
I have the chance to play with this ESR when my friend lend it to me. Comparing it with an Icharger 106B which itself is a fairly good on IRs reading, this unit gave me a more precise and accurate reading. Yes it was designed and made by Wayne Giles, one of the gurus of lipos on Rcgroups and other RC forums. More info at RCgroups to maximize its usage.
http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1323465

http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1577989

http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1577989
ESR Meter Submitted by William on 7/2/2012
Service
Quality
Value
ESR meter is quick and accurate way of measuring IR of lipos. Everyone who has lipos should have one in their tool box. I also have a FMA PL8 but prefer the ESR meter for keeping track of IR of each cell and the total pack. I like the total pack reading because it let's me know the quality of the solder joints in the connector.
ESR Meter Submitted by Ralph on 6/16/2012
Quality
Value
Service
Once in stock, received the ESR Meter in a couple of days - Great Service.

Well built, and works as advertised. This will be a valuable tool. It is fast and easy to use.
Nice tool Submitted by Mick on 12/14/2011
Service
Quality
Value
I appreciate the detailed product overview/background on youtube - that really sold it for me. It was high priced at $80, but understanding my model's power system with confidence is pretty important to me. Thunder power taps require an adapter.
ESR meter Submitted by Rumple on 11/26/2011
Value
Service
Quality
A must-have meter designed by Wayne Giles (find discussion thread on RCGroups) for measuring lipo individual cell and whole pack IR. We can finally call BS on inflated lipo discharge rate claims! Was surprised to find some cheaper Chinese branded packs to have lower IR than some of the brand-name packs. A real eye opener. Can also be used to track pack/cell health over time.

My only complaint would be the switch to change from cell to pack mode - it looks like it will be easy to break off if the meter is just thrown haphazardly in a flight box. But I believe this is being changed in V2.
ESR Meter Submitted by Jim Oddino on 9/23/2011
Value
Service
Quality
Being able to measure the Internal Resistance of our batteries at any time without charging is a great benefit. They can be checked right before flight or right after flight or after they have been soaked at some standard temperature, thereby allowing improved comparisons of various batteries from different suppliers.
For the man who has everything.
works like it should! Submitted by Bob Parks on 9/17/2011
Value
Service
Quality
This is a pretty specialized piece of equipment, since it ONLY measures the battery internal resistance. And it costs as much as a pretty good charger.

However, my experience is that while a LiPoly battery may show only a slight loss of capacity as it ages (both cycles and calendar months), the main problem is the increased resistance hurting the peak power. The pack does just fine on the slow discharge that most chargers can do, but the voltage drops so much under load that the ESC cuts out in just a few seconds of running time.

I compared this meter against the voltage drop in some actual motor runs and it seems pretty accurate. It does read about 50% higher than the ESR reading from my iCharger 306, but its also doing a much higher current load test than the charger does. (the short pulse, low current ESR of a battery is lower than it is with a higher load pulse)

The only thing I would change on this is to also have a balance tap connector with pins to fit the narrower Thunder Power connectors.

Items 11 to 19 of 19 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2

Write Your Own Review

Please leave your product rating with 5 stars as the highest rating.

  1 Star 2 Stars 3 Stars 4 Stars 5 Stars
Value
Service
Quality
 

Please wait...