ESR Analysis Meter (2S-6S)

$89.99

Availability: 2 in stock. Low Inventory

Value
Service
Quality
26 Review(s)
Item # AC-ESR
ESR Meter (2S-6S)

Customer Reviews

ESR Meter - A Must-Have Item for the Serious Electric RC Pilot Submitted by Andy Hoffer, Toronto, Canada on 2/5/2013
Quality
Value
Service
This is a superb piece of equipment and is an excellent value. Kudos to Wayne Giles for truly adding value to our RC experience with this elegant, well executed design. The ability to cut through all of the misleading manufacturer specs and descriptions for LiPo batteries and obtain a meaningful quantitative evaluation is a delight. The ESR meter is an excellent diagnostic tool for measuring and tracking the condition of the cells in a pack.

Congrats to Progressive RC for having the wisdom to carry this truly useful item and for their excellent customer service.

Best regards,

Andy Hoffer, Toronto, Canada
Does what it says on the tin Submitted by Mike Kirk on 1/22/2013
Service
Quality
Value
I bought this meter because I had some batteries that were discharging strangely, and I wanted some way to measure if they were good or bad. A bonus was having a way to watch my other batteries as they age.

The ESR numbers matched what I had expected from reading forums, and the higher resistance numbers did correspond to the packs that hit LVC early under load and ran hot:

https://www.mikekirk.org/wordpress/resistance-is-futile-but-can-be-measured/

It's so easy a monkey could use it, and the case seems sturdy enough. I took off one star for "value" because the price seems a bit high (almost 2 new lipos from HobbyKing) but I understand it's a niche product that doesn't ship in volume.

I think it does a great job, and would recommend it to anyone that wants to get the most life out of their lipos.
ESR Submitted by Robert on 1/6/2013
Service
Quality
Value
Meter allows field checking of Ohm values before flying your favorite planes
ESR Meter Submitted by Doug on 12/22/2012
Service
Quality
Value
A very useful addition to my flight tools.
ESR Meter Submitted by Can't TellYou on 12/18/2012
Service
Quality
Value
Easy to use, great for comparing packs, using it for supercapacitor modules too.
ESR a great product. Submitted by James on 12/1/2012
Service
Quality
Value
Interesting to see the effects of age on batteries.
Good hand-made quality piece. Submitted by Orlbuzz on 12/1/2012
Service
Quality
Value
I agree with all the good already written. I will add a few notes.
Service from Progressive RC was excellent. I ordered when it was listed as backordered, the next day it was shipped, and the next day they were backordered again. I would advise placing your order and waiting.
I put 4mm solid bullet connectors inline so that I could use Deans and Jst connectors. I first used a Deans to Jst adapter. When I made a bullet to Jst connector, the mah dropped by 45! This meter and the forum where I discovered it have made me painfully aware of the limits of Jst connectors. I will be trying some mini Deans and make a bullet to mini Deans to check that next.
I have checked all of my lipos and logged the results at storage voltage. I look forward to following the usage results.
update from my review a year ago Submitted by Bob Parks on 9/24/2012
Service
Quality
Value
I have been using this meter for a year now, and its been very useful. The problem I mentioned before about the ESR meter reading higher resistance than an iCharger was because the setup I had with the ESR meter was a 2 wire resistance and thus included all the connectors and adapters, while the iCharger was using the balance tap to read the cells with a 4 wire measurement, and NOT including all the connectors. When you do cell by cell readings both methods now give about the same results. The ESR meter is a lot better on large cells, since it has much better resolution.

The meter has been great. Easy to use, and so it gets used on every pack after ever charge. The increase in pack ESR with age is pretty dramatic. We have had packs DOUBLE their ESR in the year we have had this meter.

The RC Groups links posted by YRS TRULY are very helpful. The REAL "Max C rate" method discussed in those links matches up very well with our experience. (and we do high C rate pack discharge tests regularly).

Anyway, I cannot change my old rating, but here is a new one with all 5 stars. Its not cheap, but it is a good value.
ESR Submitted by Anton on 9/1/2012
Quality
Value
Service
Seems to do erverything it's supposed to do. Too bad it only has the Deans type of plug. I have other batteries, but I guess I can make some adapters...where is that soldering iron?
more info at RCgroups Submitted by YURS TRULY on 7/12/2012
Value
Service
Quality
I have the chance to play with this ESR when my friend lend it to me. Comparing it with an Icharger 106B which itself is a fairly good on IRs reading, this unit gave me a more precise and accurate reading. Yes it was designed and made by Wayne Giles, one of the gurus of lipos on Rcgroups and other RC forums. More info at RCgroups to maximize its usage.
http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1323465

http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1577989

http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1577989

Items 11 to 20 of 26 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3

Write Your Own Review

Please leave your product rating with 5 stars as the highest rating.

  1 Star 2 Stars 3 Stars 4 Stars 5 Stars
Value
Service
Quality